Life View

Looking back I see the twists and turns of a life lived
A narrow track weaving its way to the top of the mountain
With churning memories painting a retrospective story of the past
The track undulating and uneven
Scarred with deep-set pits and hollows
Overgrown hedges encroach and block access
Impeding progress, hindering the journey
Slowed, but not halted, life moves forward
Hesitant, sluggish, tardy, yet still advancing
Gathering momentum as it nears the crest of the hill
The horizon, a shining beacon of hope
And dreams that float far in the distance
Visible and attainable, just take one step

copyright © 2018 Karen Horsley

9 thoughts on “Life View

    1. Thank you, it’s good in a way that life is like this as it gives my poetry a focus! Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment, I appreciate it xx 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hardy produced some of the finest poetry of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. One I quickly took to my heart was Afterwards perhaps because of my reflections on mortality , it certainly appeals to the elderly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You remind me of the first time Jude first saw Christminster shimmering in the distant twilight ; the longing for the unattainable.
    Some maintain Hardy was a pessimist but I suspect he was somewhat of a realist , in one of his poems he uses the term ‘ why unblooms the best hope ever sown. ‘ Christminster has a religious ring about it which I’m sure was Hardy’s intent being steeped in Anglicanism.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hardy was a great writer but I found Jude rather disjointed and broken as if he was trying to mold the story to make a point. I know he was upset by criticism especially when he questioned accepted norms but I believe The Mayor of Casterbridge to be his greatest achievement.
        It flows naturally and gives the impression he is telling a story not making a point, but it goes without saying his was a unique voice.
        I noticed you are learning the piano and I was reminded of my father who taught himself and got such pleasure from the instrument.

        Like

      2. I am trying to teach myself, it’s slow progress but I am enjoying it.
        I haven’t read any Hardy for years, I was a big fan in my late teens and 20s, will have to revisit at some point.

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.